NDIS (National Disability Insurance Scheme)

What is the NDIS? 

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) provides individualised support for eligible people with permanent and significant disability, their families and carers.

The Scheme was introduced in selected trial sites in 2013 with the rollout of the full scheme in NSW, Victoria, QLD, SA, Tasmania, the ACT and NT to commence progressively from July 2016.

For more information, visit the NDIS website.

Am I eligible?

To access the NDIS, you need to meet certain criteria. This includes living in a trial site area, your age, residency criteria and meeting either the disability or early intervention requirements.

To see if you meet the access requirements for the NDIS, and use the NDIS Access Checklist.

All states and territories other than Western Australia have signed up to the full scheme, which will be progressively rolled out to cover all eligible people with disability from July 2016.

Until the Scheme has been rolled out in your area, existing Commonwealth, state and territory government funded disability services will continue. More information is available on the NDIS website.

What does the NDIS cover?

Everyone’s needs, preferences and aspirations are different. The National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA) provides information and referrals, support to access community services and activities, and personal plans and funded supports over a lifetime.

To get a better understanding of what NDIS participants have included in their plans, there are a range of case studies on the NDIS website.